EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Second-level Administrative Divisions, Europe, Year 1

This shapefile represents 2nd-level administrative divisions of sovereign states for Europe for the year 1. 2nd level divisions are simple territorial units under the control of the main authority of their state and bear various denominations like provinces, counties, duchies, districts, departements etc. This layer is part of the Euratlas Georeferenced Vector Data collection that is composed of 21 maps, one for each century from year 1 to year 2000. These maps depict the detailed political situation of Europe at the first day of each centennial year C.E. from year 1 to 2000. Each map is composed of two kinds of layers: physical features layers, such as seas and rivers, and political features layers, such as states and cities. Some layers also cover adjacent portions of North Africa and the Middle East.
Boundaries, Administrative and political divisions, and boundaries
Held by