EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Confederation Boundary Lines, 1820, German Historical GIS

These lines represent the boundary of the German Confederation (Deutscher Bund) in 1820. The confederation boundary extends beyond "core Germany" and includes portions of the Habsburg Empire and Luxembourg. It excludes portions of Prussia (the eastern provinces) and a small territory in Oldenburg that was under dispute and thus not part of the German Confederation in 1820. Missing segments indicate bodies water (Lake Constance) in which boundaries were not fixed at the time or which did not connect to "core Germany" (Adriatic Sea).
HGIS Germany
Held by
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values