EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany State Boundaries, 1826, German Historical GIS

Between 1821 and 1826 the political map of "core Germany" changed in several cases, but all changes were located in the realm of the petty states of Thuringia. In 1824 the principalities of Reuss-Lobenstein and Reuss-Ebersdorf were unified as a single state called "Reuss-Lobenstein and Ebersdorf". In 1826 there was a major redrawing of Thuringian boundaries due to the extinction of one of the dynastic lines, Saxe Gotha-Altenburg. Two states are refounded under new boundaries: Saxe Altenburg ruled by the former prince of Saxe-Hildburghausen, and Saxe-Coburg and Gotha ruled by a new line of the House of Wettin, Saxe Coburg and Gotha, which later became connected to the British monarchy, founding in fact today's House of Windsor. Three states became extinct: Saxe-Hildburghausen, Saxe Gotha-Altenburg, and Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld. Saxe-Meiningen, finally, greatly extended its territory. - For the overall picture, see the description for 1820.
HGIS Germany
Germany, German Confederation, Central Europe, Germany, Poland, Kaliningrad Oblast, Belgium, Denmark, and Lithuania
Political Divisions, sovereign states, boundaries, Boundaries, Administrative and political divisions, German states, and Population Statistics
Held by
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values