EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Provincial Boundaries, 1826, German Historical GIS

These polygons represent 9 provinces existing in the sovereign states of the German Confederation (the Deutscher Bund) in 1826, which were located within the (future) boundaries of the German Empire that would be founded in 1871 ("core Germany"). Since in 1826 only Prussia used provinces as administrative units, the provincial dataset as a layer likewise represents the territorial extension of the Kingdom of Prussia in 1820. Compared to 1820, the two most western located provinces of Juelich-Kleve-Berg and Niederrhein have merged to now represent the province of Rhineland (Rheinprovinz).
HGIS Germany
Germany, German Confederation, Central Europe, Germany, Czech Republic, Poland, Kaliningrad Oblast, Belgium, and Lithuania
Political Divisions, sovereign states, boundaries, Boundaries, Administrative and political divisions, and Population Statistics
Held by
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values