EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Provincial Boundaries, 1848, German Historical GIS

These polygons represent 11 provinces existing in the sovereign states of the German Confederation (the Deutscher Bund) in 1848, which were located within the (future) boundaries of the German Empire that would be founded in 1871 ("core Germany"). Since in 1848 three provinces had been formed within the state of Hesse-Darmstadt, the layer now represents the territorial extension of the Kingdom of Prussia and of the Grand-Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt in 1848. The eastern provinces of Prussia are now part of the German Confederation.
HGIS Germany
Held by
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values