EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Provincial Boundaries, 1853, German Historical GIS

These polygons represent 9 provinces existing in the sovereign states of the German Confederation (the Deutscher Bund) in 1853, which were located within the (future) boundaries of the German Empire that would be founded in 1871 ("core Germany"). As compared to 1850, the territories of the former duchies of Hohenzollern have been loosely attached to the Prussian Rheinprovinz, but still maintain some administrative independence. Thus, they have been classified in the dataset as a "province possessing limited administrative jurisdiction." In addition, in Hesse-Darmstadt the three provinces created in 1848 have been abolished again, so that once again only in Prussia are provinces existed.
HGIS Germany
Held by
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values