EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Governmental District Boundaries, 1867, German Historical GIS

These polygons represent 66 governmental districts (Regierungsbezirke) existing in several of the sovereign states of the North German Federation (the Norddeutscher Deutscher Bund) and the south German states in 1867. All were located within the (future) boundaries of the German Empire that would be founded in 1871 ("core Germany"). In 1867, governmental districts formed the middle level administrative units in nearly all of the larger territorial German states: Prussia, Saxony, Bavaria, Wurttemberg, Baden, and Hesse-Darmstadt.
HGIS Germany
Held by
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values