EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Provincial Boundaries, 1867, German Historical GIS

These polygons represent 12 provinces existing within the semi-sovereign states of the North German Federation (the Norddeutscher Bund) in 1867, which were located within the (future) boundaries of the German Empire that would be founded in 1871 ("core Germany"). Since in 1867 only Prussia used provinces as administrative units, the provincial dataset as a layer likewise represents the territorial extension of the Kingdom of Prussia in 1867. As compared to 1863, 3 new provinces have been added, reflecting the territorial gains made by Prussia in the wake of the German War of 1866: Hanover (the former Kingdom of Hanover), Hessen-Nassau (the former Grand Duchy of Hesse-Kassel and the Duchy of Nassau), and Schleswig-Holstein (the former Duchies of Schleswig and Holstein).
HGIS Germany
Germany, German Confederation, Central Europe, Germany, Poland, Kaliningrad Oblast, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, and Lithuania
Political Divisions, sovereign states, boundaries, Boundaries, Administrative and political divisions, and Population Statistics
Held by
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values