EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Germany Provincial Boundaries, 1890, German Historical GIS

These polygons represent 14 provinces existing in the German Empire in 1890. Since only Prussia used provinces as administrative units, the provincial dataset as a layer likewise represents the territorial extension of the Kingdom of Prussia in 1890. Two changes have occurred as compared to 1871: The province of Prussia has again been split into the two provinces of East- and West Prussia, and the capital city of Berlin has been created as a province in its own jurisdiction.
HGIS Germany
Held by
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values