EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Bristol County, Massachusetts, 1858 (Raster Image)

This layer is a georeferenced raster image of the historic paper map entitled: Map of the county of Bristol, Massachusetts, the details from actual surveys under the direction of Henry F. Walling, sup't of the state map. It was published by John L. Smith Co in 1858. Scale 1:47,520. The image inside the map neatline is georeferenced to the surface of the earth and fit to the Massachusetts State Plane Coordinate System, Mainland Zone (in Feet) (Fipszone 2001). All map collar and inset information is also available as part of the raster image, including any inset maps, profiles, statistical tables, directories, text, illustrations, or other information associated with the principal map. This map shows features such as roads, railroads, drainage, public buildings, schools, churches, cemeteries, industry locations (e.g. mills, factories, mines, etc.), private buildings with names of property owners, town and county boundaries and more. Relief is shown by hachures. It includes many cadastral insets of individual county towns and villages, and an inset geological map of county. It includes also illustrations, business directories, and tables of statistics and distances. This map represents county boundaries as of 1858, thus it includes portions of East Providence and Pawtucket, now in Rhode Island and does not include portions of Fall River and Westport, Massachusetts, formerly in Rhode Island. This layer is part of a selection of digitally scanned and georeferenced historic maps of Massachusetts from the Harvard Map Collection. These maps typically portray both natural and manmade features. The selection represents a range of regions, originators, ground condition dates (1755-1922), scales, and purposes. The digitized selection includes maps of: the state, Massachusetts counties, town surveys, coastal features, real property, parks, cemeteries, railroads, roads, public works projects, etc.
Harvard Map Collection, Harvard College Library
Massachusetts, Bristol County, North Attleborough, Attleboro, Mansfield, Norton, Easton, Seekonk, Rehoboth, Dighton, Taunton, Norton, Raynham, Berkley, Swansea, Somerset, Fall River, Freetown, Westport, Dartmouth, New Bedford, Acushnet, and Fairhaven
Maps, Landowners, Human settlements, Cities and towns, Villages, Land use, Infrastructure (Economics), Bodies of water, Administrative and political divisions, and imageryBaseMapsEarthCover
Held by
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values