EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Municipal Zoning Districts

The MassGIS zoning datalayer represents the boundaries of municipal zoning districts. Because zoning is established at the town level, there is no standard district classification across the state. While districts in different towns may have similar or even identical names, their definitions are often quite different. Generalized codes have been added to make these data useful for regional display. A related table contains detailed information about the districts such as setbacks or text descriptions from each town’s zoning bylaws. Data are available for all communities. (Only primary district information is available for the City of Boston, not additional infomation for its bylaws.) MassGIS stores the data in a statewide ArcSDE layer named ZONING_POLY. Zoning district boundaries change frequently and MassGIS currently has no formal process in place to regularly update these coverages. These data should therefore be used for regional analysis only and not as official zoning maps. The town’s own official zoning map and current copy of the by-law should be considered as the final word on zoning boundary questions or issues. In August, 2007, data were updated for these 93 towns: Adams, Agawam, Amherst, Aquinnah, Ashburnham, Ashby, Athol, Ayer, Belchertown, Billerica, Bourne, Brewster, Chatham, Chelmsford, Cheshire, Chester, Chesterfield, Chicopee, Chilmark, Clarksburg, Clinton, Cummington, Dalton, Dennis, East Longmeadow, Edgartown, Egremont, Falmouth, Fitchburg, Gardner, Georgetown, Gosnold, Granby, Great Barrington, Groton, Hadley, Hampden, Harvard, Hatfield, Hubbardston, Huntington, Lancaster, Lanesborough, Lawrence, Lee, Lenox, Leominster, Lowell, Ludlow, Lunenburg, Mashpee, Monson, Monterey, New Ashford, North Adams, Northampton, Oak Bluffs, Otis, Palmer, Petersham, Phillipston, Pittsfield, Richmond, Rowley, Royalston, Russell, Salisbury, Sandisfield, Sheffield, Shirley, South Hadley, Southampton, Southwick, Sterling, Stockbridge, Templeton, Tisbury, Townsend, Truro, Ware, Washington, Wellfleet, West Springfield, West Stockbridge, West Tisbury, Westfield, Westminster, Wilbraham, Williamsburg, Williamstown, Winchendon, Worthington, and Yarmouth.
municipal zoning districts political regulation regulated areas
Held by
This data is hosted by MassGIS, and is currently unavailable to preview and download. Stanford University does not hold this data and cannot provide access to it, at this time. If you have questions about this or other unavailable datasets from MassGIS (Bureau of Geographic Information) please submit your feedback to