EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog


NCompass Technologies, under contract with Metropolitan Council, created a 2010 Census Bureau block polygon dataset for the Twin Cities Metropolitan Area (Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington Counties). This dataset is coincident with and developed using the NCT Street Centerline and Landmarks databases where 2010 block boundaries fall on those features. For those block boundaries that are defined by features not included in NCT databases, NCT used other digital resources to generate these boundaries, such as orthophotography or additional features from city and county GIS databases. NCT used it's best judgement to digitize block boundaries when the block boundaries followed nonvisible features or street extensions. Polygon centroid points were also generated by the Metropolitan Council for blocks, block groups and tracts (Census2010RealignBlockGroupPoints, Census2010RealignBlockPoints, Census2010RealignTractPoints). This is a MetroGIS Regionally Endorsed dataset. (See for more information.)
Metropolitan Council
Held by