EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

North America ((ISO) Independent System Operator Zones, 2008)

The Platts Independent System Operator (ISO) Zones geospatial data layer contains regions representing the geographic extent of the wholesale power zones and interfaces that ISO's maintain reliability and direct transmission traffic for. Most ISO's are not-for-profit organizations that manage the transmission lines and supervise maintenance within their zones, but the transmission systems are still owned and maintained by individual utilities. ISOs facilitate fair and open competition in the wholesale power market and allow for power to be purchased and sold through competitive bidding.
United States, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Washington D.C., Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Canada, Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Yukon Territory, Mexico, North America, US, and USA
utilitiesCommunication, economy, energy, and polygon
Held by