EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Massachusetts (Designated Shellfish Growing Areas, 2000)

The Designated Shellfish Growing Area (DSGA) datalayer was compiled by the Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Environmental Law Enforcement's (DFWELE) Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF). Three hundred and three growing areas in Massachusetts have been designated by DMF's Shellfish Project.A designated shellfish growing area is an area of potential shellfish habitat, and all three hundred and three DSGA's make up the territorial waters (tidal zone out to the territorial line) of the Commonwealth. Growing areas are managed with respect to shellfish harvest for direct human consumption, and comprise at least one or more classification areas. The classification areas are the management units, and range from being approved to prohibited (six different classification types in all) with respect to shellfish harvest. For example, one growing area may be composed of four classification areas, all of which are managed separately (have a classification type the same or different from the rest in the growing area). This coverage reflects classification areas as of July 1, 2000.The Division of Marine Fisheries and MassGIS are maintaining this datalayer.
Massachusetts Office of Geographic and Environmental Information (MassGIS)
Held by
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values