EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Districts with Census Populations, Pakistan, 1998

This polygon shapefile contains the district boundaries for Pakistan in 1998. These are the thrid level administrative divisions (ADM3). Districts were the third order of administrative divisions, below provinces and "divisions", until the reforms of August 2000, when "divisions" were abolished. Districts now form the top tier of a three-tier system of local government with the two lower tiers composed of approximately 596 tehsils (included the Kashmir region) and more than 6,000 union councils. This layer is part of a collection of data relating to administrative units in the Pakistan.This dataset is intended for researchers, students, and policy makers for reference and mapping purposes, and may be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analysis with other spatial data.
Asian Spatial Information and Analysis Network (Australia). Australian Centre.
Administrative and political divisions, Population, Boundaries, and Society
Held by
More details at
Use and reproduction
These data are licensed by Stanford Libraries and are available to Stanford University affiliates only. Affiliates are limited to current faculty, staff and students. These data may not be reproduced or used for any purpose without permission. For more information please contact
Copyright ownership resides with the originator.