EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Local Government Districts of England and Wales, 1921

, , , , and
These are digital boundaries for the system of districts essentially created by the 1894 Local Government Act and continuing to exist until 1974. England and Wales were divided into County Boroughs, Municipal Boroughs, Urban Districts and Rural Districts. These generally functioned as sub-divisions of Administrative Counties with powers varying according to status, but County Boroughs were large cities with full independence from their County. The County of London was divided into Metropolitan Boroughs, plus the City of London which had the unique status of County Corporate. This file represents the system as it was used to report the 1921 Census of Population. To distinguish between identical place names with different administrative geographies, an Administrative County Boundaries layer may be used to add County name attributes to this layer. Statistical data and other information used in “A Vision of Britain through Time” can be accessed here: dataset is intended for researchers, students, and policy makers for reference and mapping purposes, and may be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analysis with other spatial data.
University of Portsmouth
England and Wales
Administrative and political divisions and Boundaries
Held by
More details at
Use and reproduction
These data are licensed by Stanford Libraries and are available to Stanford University affiliates for non-commercial activities of research, teaching, educational or scholarly work purposes only. Affiliates are limited to current faculty, staff and students. An End User Licence outlining the full terms of use is included with this download.
Copyright © Great Britain Historical GIS Project and the University of Portsmouth. By downloading any data from this site, you agree to the terms contained in the End User Licence.