EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Parliamentary Constituencies of England, 1868-1870

, , , , and
These are digital boundaries for the system of Constituencies which were and are the units from which Members of Parliament are elected, and which they then represent. The system of county and borough constituencies has early origins but was not systematically mapped until the reforms introduced by the Representation of the People Act in 1832. This file represents the system as it was established following the Boundary Commission Report of 1868. The next Boundary Commission was not until 1885, but slightly earlier eliminations of rotten boroughs mean that a separate set of digital boundaries for constituencies in England and Wales has been created for the period 1870-85. Statistical data and other information used in “A Vision of Britain through Time” can be accessed here: dataset is intended for researchers, students, and policy makers for reference and mapping purposes, and may be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analysis with other spatial data.
University of Portsmouth
Parliament, Election districts, Administrative and political divisions, and Boundaries
Held by
More details at
Use and reproduction
These data are licensed by Stanford Libraries and are available to Stanford University affiliates for non-commercial activities of research, teaching, educational or scholarly work purposes only. Affiliates are limited to current faculty, staff and students. An End User Licence outlining the full terms of use is included with this download.
Copyright © Great Britain Historical GIS Project and the University of Portsmouth. By downloading any data from this site, you agree to the terms contained in the End User Licence.