EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Governorate Boundaries, Egypt, 2006

This polygon shapefile contains the governorate boundaries of Egypt for 2006. Egypt is divided into 27 governorates for administrative purposes. Governorates are the top tier of the country's five-tier jurisdiction hierarchy. A governorate is administered by a governor, who is appointed by the President of Egypt and serves at the president's discretion. Most governorates have a population density of more than one thousand per km², while the three largest have a population density of less than two per km². These data are part of a collection of boundary data for Egypt published by the Central Agency for Public Mobilization And Statistics.This dataset is intended for researchers, students, and policy makers for reference and mapping purposes, and may be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analysis with other spatial data.
Egypt. Jihāz al-Markazī lil-Taʻbiʼah al-ʻĀmmah wa-al-Iḥṣāʼ
Administrative and political divisions and Boundaries
Held by
More details at
Use and reproduction
These data are licensed by Stanford Libraries and are available to Stanford University affiliates only. Affiliates are limited to current faculty, staff and students. These data may not be reproduced or used for any purpose without permission. For more information please contact
Copyright ownership resides with the originator.