EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Municipalities with Census Populations, Republic of Georgia, 1989

This polygon shapefile contains the municipality boundaries for the Republic of Georgia. These are the level 2 administrative divisions (ADM2). Each municipality contains the population count from the 1989 Soviet census. A municipality is a subdivision of Georgia, consisting of a settlement or a group of settlements, which enjoys local self-government. There are two types of municipalities—self-governing cities, 12 in total, and self-governing communities, 64 in total. This layer is part of a collection of data relating to administrative units in the Republic of Georgia.This dataset is intended for researchers, students, and policy makers for reference and mapping purposes, and may be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analysis with other spatial data.
Asian Spatial Information and Analysis Network (Australia). Australian Centre.
Georgia (Republic)
Administrative and political divisions, Population, Boundaries, and Society
Held by
More details at
Use and reproduction
These data are licensed by Stanford Libraries and are available to Stanford University affiliates only. Affiliates are limited to current faculty, staff and students. These data may not be reproduced or used for any purpose without permission. For more information please contact
Copyright ownership resides with the originator.