EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Länder or Federal States, Germany, 2015

This polygon layer shows the 16 federal states within Germany, administrative level 1, as of 2015. The Federal Republic of Germany is made up of sixteen federal states, known as Bundesländer (singular Bundesland) or Länder (singular Land).[a] Since Germany has a federal constitution, the constituent states retain a measure of sovereignty. With an emphasis on geographical conditions, Berlin and Hamburg are frequently called Stadtstaaten (city-states), as is the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen, which in fact includes the cities of Bremen and Bremerhaven. The remaining 13 states are called Flächenländer (literally: area states).
University of California, Davis. Geography Graduate Group
Germany, Northern Hemisphere, Eastern Hemisphere, and Europe
polygon, boundaries, location, Boundaries., Planning., Political planning., Regional planning., Census., and States
Held by
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values