EarthWorks Geospatial Catalog

Census Municipios PR 2010

This polygon data layer represents the 2010 TIGER/Line census municipios (county equivalents) for Puerto Rico. The TIGER/Line Files are shapefiles and related database files (.dbf) that are an extract of selected geographic and cartographic information from the U.S. Census Bureau's Master Address File / Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing (MAF/TIGER) Database (MTDB). The MTDB represents a seamless national file with no overlaps or gaps between parts, however, each TIGER/Line File is designed to stand alone as an independent data set, or they can be combined to cover the entire nation. The primary legal divisions of most States are termed counties. In Louisiana, these divisions are known as parishes. In Alaska, which has no counties, the equivalent entities are the organized boroughs, city and boroughs, and municipalities, and for the unorganized area, census areas. The latter are delineated cooperatively for statistical purposes by the State of Alaska and the Census Bureau. In four States (Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia), there are one or more incorporated places that are independent of any county organization and thus constitute primary divisions of their States. These incorporated places are known as independent cities and are treated as equivalent entities for purposes of data presentation. The District of Columbia and Guam have no primary divisions, and each area is considered an equivalent entity for purposes of data presentation. The Census Bureau treats the following entities as equivalents of counties for purposes of data presentation: Municipios in Puerto Rico, Districts and Islands in American Samoa, Municipalities in the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Islands in the U.S. Virgin Islands. The entire area of the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas is covered by counties or equivalent entities. The 2010 Census boundaries for counties and equivalent entities are as of January 1, 2010, primarily as reported through the Census Bureau's Boundary and Annexation Survey (BAS).
United States. Bureau of the Census. Geography Division
Puerto Rico, Adjuntas Municipio, Aguada Municipio, Aguadilla Municipio, Aguas Buenas Municipio, Aibonito Municipio, Aasco Municipio, Arecibo Municipio, Arroyo Municipio, Barceloneta Municipio, Barranquitas Municipio, Bayamn Municipio, Cabo Rojo Municipio, Caguas Municipio, Camuy Municipio, Canvanas Municipio, Carolina Municipio, Catao Municipio, Cayey Municipio, Ceiba Municipio, Ciales Municipio, Cidra Municipio, Coamo Municipio, Comero Municipio, Corozal Municipio, Culebra Municipio, Dorado Municipio, Fajardo Municipio, Florida Municipio, Gunica Municipio, Guayama Municipio, Guayanilla Municipio, Guaynabo Municipio, Gurabo Municipio, Hatillo Municipio, Hormigueros Municipio, Humacao Municipio, Isabela Municipio, Jayuya Municipio, Juana Daz Municipio, Juncos Municipio, Lajas Municipio, Lares Municipio, Las Maras Municipio, Las Piedras Municipio, Loza Municipio, Luquillo Municipio, Manat Municipio, Maricao Municipio, Maunabo Municipio, Mayagez Municipio, Moca Municipio, Morovis Municipio, Naguabo Municipio, Naranjito Municipio, Orocovis Municipio, Patillas Municipio, Peuelas Municipio, Ponce Municipio, Quebradillas Municipio, Rincn Municipio, Ro Grande Municipio, Sabana Grande Municipio, Salinas Municipio, San Germn Municipio, San Juan Municipio, San Lorenzo Municipio, San Sebastin Municipio, Santa Isabel Municipio, Toa Alta Municipio, Toa Baja Municipio, Trujillo Alto Municipio, Utuado Municipio, Vega Alta Municipio, Vega Baja Municipio, Vieques Municipio, Villalba Municipio, Yabucoa Municipio, Yauco Municipio, United States, U.S., State or Equivalent Entity, Puerto Rico, PR, and 72
polygon, boundaries, Counties, Administrative and political divisions, United States--Census, State or equivalent entity, and Polygon
Held by
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values